2023 Goals

Last year I kept my goals really simple:

  1. read more than 50 books (I managed to read 114 books)
  2. keep up with my pregnancy books (which I did)
  3. finish Oresama Teacher (check!)
  4. finish Haikyu!! (check!)

This year, in the same vein, I’m keeping my goals simple:

  1. read more than 12 novels (does not include manga, novellas, or short story collections)
  2. catch up with all my on-going manga series (Spy x Family, Kaiju Girl Caramelise, and Monthly Girls’ Nozaki-kun)
  3. finish Love at Fourteen, and Lovesick Ellie

I’m placing a lot of focus on my manga collection this year, as it makes up the bulk of my TBR. I meant to have this post up sooner but I got sidetracked cataloguing every book I own, and as a result I now know that my unread books make up 8.8% of my collection, and 7.3% of that belongs to manga. If we want actual numbers, that’s 7 unread text-based books, and 40 unread volumes of manga out of the 547 books I own. (My husband and daughter’s books are not included in this total and make up majority of the bottom row of my bookcases.)

I’m honestly not stressed or unhappy with the size of my TBR but I have owned many volumes of manga for over 2 years now, so I think it’s about time I worked on that TBR. When it comes to any of my TBRs (physical, e-book, or audiobook) I get extremely stressed when my text-based TBR gets too high (think more than 10 books per TBR), but thankfully I am also very good with reading the text-based books I add to my collection (this is helped by the fact that a lot of what I add to said collection is books I’ve already read via my library that I’ve really enjoyed). I am 100% not the kind of reader who wants a huge text-based TBR. I’m the exact opposite when it comes to manga. I think this stems from the fact that I feel like I’m constantly looking for manga that fits my taste, because it’s just that much harder to come by than text-based books that fit my taste. But when I really think about my manga TBR I have this mentality of “I don’t want to read it yet because that means I won’t have it to read later” and to my rational mind this is nonsensical because I love rereading. So this year I want to make a proper dent in my manga TBR.

I own and have not read Fullmetal Alchemist but I haven’t included it in my statistics because I’ve been waffling over whether or not I want to unhaul the series. I love the anime, but action manga often doesn’t work for me and I’ve DNF’d the series three times now.

I also have a couple low priority/pressure goals; with these ones if I don’t complete them they’ll be goals for next year:

  1. Complete Blue Flag
  2. Complete Koroko’s Basketball or complete Cross Game (if I completed both that would be amazing!)

That’s it! I’d love to know what your reading goals are for this year! 🙂

Leave a comment